Archived Weight And Could It Work To Balance Pvp?

This suggestion has been archived / closed and can no longer be voted on.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Smexitalian

The Fonguard
Reaction score
Now, I have posted many of times about the addition of weight to armor, yet it seems to always get ingored by most people. I believe it is a good idea and most of the feedback that I have recieved about it has been positive. I shall explain the details below and you can decide whether to support it or not.

The Change:

Whenever a player wears a of diamond or iron armor, they will recieve a slowness effect.

There are two things that I must explain about what I just said.

1.When I say a peice of iron or diamond armor I mean ANY peice, this is because armor from the chest down should slow you down. This means that wearing a helmet would add the effect too, but I am no coder and do not know what is possible with this. I just feel that coding it any other way would create more work for the coder than just having all peices give the effect.

2.When adding the slowness effect, I assume that having the potion effect of slowness whenever equipping armor shouldn't be too hard to do, but then again, I am only assuming. I have seen what the potion of slowness can do and I do not think it will have too much of an effect on running speed (If it does show to be too slow, you can always just decrease the speed reduction) and could be easily countered with a speed potion, horses, shooting arrows at your speedy enemies in the lighter armors, or possibly even a trait.

Other Possible Features:
(depending if they can be coded)
-Inability to swim in heavy armor

-Food meter decreases faster in heavy armor

The Advantages:

-more variety in battles

-Include strategy in fighting

-encourages horse usage in battle

-a use for the lower tiered armors(chain and leather)

-makes archery a bit more useful(not sure how useful it is now, haven't used it yet :P )