Archived New Chat Radius - Small Emote

This suggestion has been archived / closed and can no longer be voted on.

ElderShrub

The oldest of all shrubberies
Reaction score
Hello people of MassiveCraft! Just a really quick idea I have wanted to suggest for a while. Currently, we have an emote system. Emotes are great. They have only one problem. They're huge, and loud, and can be somewhat obnoxious in crowded areas. According to the website emotes have a radius of 22 blocks they can be heard. And this is good for some things. If my character is waving to another character who is a distance away, I want them to be able to see it.

However, the problem occurs in crowded areas such as the tavern and certain event spaces in roleplay (I'm going to be talking about Regalia here as I have no experience with factions). Generally in these environments players group up. We all know the pain and suffering of needing to scroll through a long list of emotes to try and spot any messages directed at your character. In some really bad cases, for etiquette, I've seen players ditch emotes entirely and end their messages with a +* to indicate an emote but only have it reach whisper distance.

Thus, I have a simple solution that will hopefully require little effort on the programing side, and should cut back on chat clutter. Small Emotes. This new chat radius could be indicated by a minus sign (-) or possibly an equals sign (=). It would serve the same function as an emote, with the same style and features, but only have the radius of 5 or so blocks. The same as the maximum radius of a whisper. Using this, more players can roleplay comfortably in a confined or small area without disrupting each other.

What do you think? Are there any downsides to this new chat radius? Is it needed? Let me know.

This suggestion has been closed. Votes are no longer accepted.
The odd thing is, I was speaking about this during the last assembly.